Home  |  Email      






For Immediate Release

23 Sep 2011


For more information contact: 
PRRO Administrator Elizabeth Unislawski
404-231-9064 #11


PRRO Circuit Bonus Resets to $10,000 after Kitwara Victory at AJC Peachtree Road Race


Ridouane Harroufi and Alice Timbilili First Runners Eligible to Compete for 2012 Bonus after Boilermaker Wins


Sammy Kitwara of Kenya won the PRRO Race of Champions and collected the $10,000 PRRO Circuit Bonus at this year’s AJC Peachtree Road Race 10K in Atlanta, GA on July 4. Kitwara, who became eligible for the circuit purse by virtue of his victory at the World’s Best 10K in San Juan, Puerto Rico in February, turned back fellow Kenyan Simon Ndirangu, who became eligible by winning at the Lilac Bloomsday 12K in May. Kitwara did not have to split the $10,000 bonus because Lilac Bloomsday women’s winner Misiker Mekonnin of Ethiopia, the only eligible female, failed to win the women’s division at Peachtree. [Peachtree’s women’s champion Werknesh Kidane of Ethiopia was not eligible since she did not qualify with a win at any of the 2010-2011 PRRO circuit events.]  Kitwara became the second runner to collect a second PRRO Circuit Bonus, joining Lineth Chepkurui, who won the $10,000 bonus outright in 2010, and, along with Kitwara, split the PRRO bonus purse of $35,000 in 2009.

A week after the Atlanta race, on July 10, Ridouane Harroufi of Morocco and Alice Timbilili of Kenya became the first runners to become eligible to compete for the 2011-2012 PRRO Circuit Bonus when they won the Utica Boilermaker 15K.

“Kitwara and Chepkurui have been tough to beat at the AJC Peachtree Road Race,” said PRRO President Don Kardong. “But Harroufi and Timbilili have become the first runners with the right to give it their best shot on July 4, 2012.”

Under rules of the 2011-2012 PRRO Circuit, an athlete who wins one of the first four PRRO Circuit events, and finishes first at the PRRO Championship at the AJC Peachtree Road Race, claims the PRRO Circuit Bonus. [The Bonus is split if an eligible male and female both win the Championship at Peachtree.] If no eligible athlete wins, then the Bonus grows by an additional $5,000 for the following season. With Kitwara’s win, the 2011-2012 Circuit Bonus resets to $10,000.

The 2010-2011 PRRO Circuit included the Boilermaker 15K in Utica, NY on July 11, 2010; the World’s Best 10K in San Juan, Puerto Rico on February 27, 2011; the Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile in Washington, DC on April 3, 2011; the Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K in Spokane, WA on May 1, 2011; and the PRRO Championship at the AJC Peachtree Road Race on July 4, 2011.

The PRRO Circuit offers world-class competition for athletes of all nations in events shorter than the marathon distance. The circuit has shown its commitment to a drug-free sport by funding mandatory drug testing for elite athletes at all the PRRO Circuit events. The testing is carried out by the United States Anti-Doping Agency.

A summary of results from the 2010-2011 PRRO Circuit appears below, along with a list of the 2011-2012 Circuit events.

2010-2011 Events and Results:

Boilermaker 15K
July 11, 2010, Utica, NY
Men’s winner:
Lelisa Desisa, Ethiopia, 42:46.
Women’s winner
: Edna Kiplagat, Kenya, 47:57.

World’s Best 10K
February 27, 2011, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Men’s winner:
Sammy Kitwara, Kenya, 27:35.
Women’s winner:
Sentayehu Ejigu, Ethiopia, 31:50.

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 3, 2011, Washington, DC
Men’s winner
Lelisa Desisa, Ethiopia, 45:36.
Women’s winner:
Jelliah Tinega, Kenya, 54:02.

Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 1, 2011, Spokane, WA
Men’s winner:
Simon Ndirangu, Kenya, 33:58.
Women's winner:
Misiker Mekonnin, Ethiopia, 40:25.

The AJC Peachtree Road Race (2010-2011 PRRO Championship)
July 4, 2011, Atlanta, GA.
Men’s winner:
Sammy Kitwara, Kenya, 28:05.
Women's winner:
Werknesh Kidane, Ethiopia, 31:23.

2011-2012 Events:

Boilermaker 15K
July 10, 2011 (next year July 8, 2012), Utica, NY
$40,000 in prize money with $6,000 for 1st.
Elite athlete contact:
Dick Mattia, 315-732-1949.
2011 Men’s winner:
Ridouane Harroufi, Morocco, 43:30.
2011 Women’s winner
: Alice Timbilili, Kenya, 48:40.

World’s Best 10K
February 26, 2012, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Over $120,000 in prize money and bonuses. $25,000 for 1st.
Elite athlete contact:
Rafael Acosta, 787-767-2000.

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile
April 1, 2012, Washington, DC
$42,000 in prize money and bonuses. $7,500 for first. Elite athlete contact: Bill Orr, 863-533-0654.

Lilac Bloomsday 12K
May 6, 2012, Spokane, WA
$81,000 in prize money. $7,000 for 1st.
Elite athlete contact:
Jon Neill, 509-747-0101

The AJC Peachtree Road Race (2011-2012 PRRO Championship)
July 4, 2012, Atlanta, GA
Over $113,000 in prize money. $15,000 for 1st. $10,000 PRRO Circuit Bonus for eligible runners.
Elite athlete contact:
Elizabeth Unislawski, 404-231-9064 x11.


Home  |  Email


Copyright ©2007 by PRRO, 3097 E. Shadowlawn Ave., Atlanta, GA 30305 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED