Home  |  Email      







For Immediate Release

20 October, 2015


For more information contact: 
Don Kardong,
PRRO Circuit President, 509-838-1579 ext 11


EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler Joins the 2015-2016 PRRO Circuit
2015-2016 Circuit Event Winners Eligible for $1,500 PRRO Championship Participation Bonuses by Earning Open Prize Money at the PRRO Championship at the 2016 Boilermaker15K

PITTSBURGH, PA The EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler - the city's premier fall road race and the next race in the 2015-2016 PRRO Championship Circuit - is set for this Sunday, October 25. This will be the third running of the event, which joined the PRRO Circuit earlier this year.

"We're really excited to have Pittsburgh as part of the 2015-2016 PRRO Circuit," said Don Kardong, PRRO President. "The EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler is a great addition to our series of world-class road races and our second during the fall racing season."

The PRRO Circuit offers world-class competition at five prestigious events shorter than the marathon distance, with nearly $400,000 in prize money and additional bonuses. The PRRO Circuit has been a long-time champion of a clean sport and has been conducting drug testing at events since 2006. During the 2014-2015 season, the United States Anti-Doping Agency (USADA) conducted more than 50 in-competition tests and an undisclosed number of pre-competition tests.

The EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler will be the first Circuit race using a new structure and rules that were implemented at the annual PRRO Meeting in September. The winners of the Pittsburgh race, and the winners of the other races on the PRRO Circuit, will be paid a PRRO Championship Participation Bonus of $1,500 if they compete in the PRRO Championship at next summer's Boilermaker 15K and finish in an open prize money position. This replaces the "Bump-Up Bonuses" that were paid in the 2014-2015 PRRO Circuit.

Winners of the EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler, and the winners of the other 2015-2016 PRRO Circuit events, will also be eligible to compete for the $10,000 PRRO Circuit Bonus at the PRRO Championship at Boilermaker. (The Circuit Bonus is split if an eligible male and female both win at the Championship.) The winners at Boilermaker will receive either the $10,000 PRRO Circuit Bonus (if they're eligible because of having won a Circuit race), or a $2,500 payment if they are not eligible for the PRRO Circuit Bonus (because they did not win one of the five PRRO Circuit events prior to the PRRO Championship), in addition to the event's prize money. Kenyan Mary Wacera earned a total of $22,000 at the 2014-2015 Championship at the Boilermaker 15K by claiming the event's prize money and the PRRO Bonuses.

Beginning next fall, the first race each season, as well as the PRRO Championship, will begin rotating among the Circuit events. The 2016-2017 PRRO Circuit will begin with the 2016 EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler and end with the PRRO Championship at the 2017 EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler.

The following year the circuit will begin and end at the World's Best 10K, etc. A list of the 2015-2016 Circuit events appears below:

EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler, Oct. 25, 2015, Pittsburgh, PA. $26,200 in prize money. Elite athlete contact: Ryan Hogan, 412-586-7785, ryan.hogan@pr3.org. 2014 Men's winner: Leonard Korir, Kenya, 46:52. 2014 Women's winner: Sara Hall, USA, 53:47. http://www.Pittsburgh10Miler.org/

World's Best 10K, Feb. 28, 2016, San Juan, Puerto Rico. Over $120,000 in prize money and bonuses. Elite athlete contact: Rafael Acosta, 787-767-2000, rafael.acosta@wb10k.com. 2015 Men's winner: Sammy Kirop Kitwara, Kenya, 28:51. Women's winner: Belaynesh Oljira, Ethiopia, 31:57. http://www.wb10k.com

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 3, 2016, Washington, DC. $70,000 in prize money and bonuses. Elite athlete contact: Bill Orr, 863-533-0654, borr@cherryblossom.org. 2015 Men's winner: Stephen Sambu, Kenya, 43:20. 2015 Women's winner: Mary Wacera-Ngugi, Kenya, 48:35. https://www.cherryblossom.org/

Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 1, 2016, Spokane, WA. $81,000 in prize money. Elite athlete contact: Jon Neill, 509-747-0101, jhneill@eahjlaw.com. 2015 Men's winner: Lani Rutto, Kenya, 34:22. 2015 Women's winner: Cynthia Limo, Kenya, 39:27. https://www.bloomsdayrun.org/ 

Boilermaker 15K (2015-2016 PRRO Championship), July 10, 2016, Utica, NY. $63,600 in prize money. Elite athlete contact: Dick Mattia, 315-732-1949, dick@boilermaker.com. 2015 Men's winner: Eliud Ngetich Kenya, 43:31. 2015 Women's winner: Mary Wacera, Kenya, 48.49. http://www.boilermaker.com/

For more information about the PRRO Circuit, visit https://www.prro.org/.


Home  |  Email


Copyright ©2015 by PRRO, 1414 N. Belt St., Spokane, WA 99201- ALL RIGHTS RESERVED